Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

understanding pid() and fork() programming

Hi everyone.

I have been doing programming since the last 5 years. however, i have used to cut and paste the template without knowing in depth since i am chasing the time to finish a certain project. The title above seems easy if we read the manual, its just that im kinda confuse just for a second. Hope you guys can help me to give a better understanding for me so that i can upgrade my knowledge.

Well, during my normal practice cut and paste, i try to understand this code below :-

pid_t pid;
    		if (pid < 0) {	perror("Erro spawning process : "); exit(EXIT_FAILURE);	}
    		if (pid == 0) {	exit(EXIT_SUCCESS);	}
    		cout << "hello everyone";
    so when i execute this progam, the cout hello everyone will display. This is where my confusion is, in both of the if statement, both process calles an exit() function, but return an EXIT_SUCCES and EXIT_FAILURE, which i understand both function will terminate the calling process, its just that for EXIT_SUCCESS will return a 0 to the calling process indicating the termination is complete without no error and for EXIT_FAILURE is when termination is with some abnormal or error termination. So if both functions terminates, then why does the "hello everyone" appears to the screen? Also, which process is printing out the string, is it the parent or child? I do see examples as it mention that its the parent that is printing out the string, but how? I still think the process is exited at the previous code (EXIT_*), but still, i am wrong, but dont know why...

Thanks everyone for giving the time to read my post..

I suppose you know what fork() does. If not, you can read it up in the respective manual pages. After fork, the pid can represent three states:

pid > 0 : within parent, new child has this pid; enables one to sig the process