Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm relatively new to shell scripting and I just started studying on my own using a book by Richard Blum - Linux Command line and Shell scripting(sorry couldnt post ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

shell scripting question

Hi,

I'm relatively new to shell scripting and I just started studying on my own using a book by Richard Blum - Linux Command line and Shell scripting(sorry couldnt post the link)
    I'm using ubuntu 10.04 at the moment and i'm halfway finished with the book. Is this a good place to start as I seem to be learning a lot, but after I finish the book, where do I go from here? I don't use linux or unix at my job but I really enjoy the challenge. Is this a skill that can be useful at certain companies? I currently have a degree in MIS and I'm wondering if taking the time to learn linux and shell scripting will help me make a career move.

Thanks,

Many companies use Linux as servers, but it certainly depends on the job about whether or not knowing Linux will help you in your career. In my experience, yes, but you can certainly find many jobs where you don't need to know Linux at all.

If you are using Linux and are working as a systems administrator, knowing Bash scripting is incredibly helpful. It's a good skill for any Linux user, but for admins particularly.

Where you go from here is just writing scripts. Find things that you do and learn how to automate them. Write simple programs to make your life easier. Things like that. My favourite resource for Bash scripting is:

Advanced Bash-Scripting Guide

Shell scripting by itself may not be very important unless you are pursuing a job in linux, but not necessarily. If you plan to run linux at home, it'd be good to have some basic scripting knowledge. Nothing extravagant is necessary, but if you enjoy doing it, definitely keep going.