Find the answer to your Linux question:
I was wondering what the best free linux graphic design interface was? Possibly one from the ubuntu one software center. I tried boa constructor and it was glitchy and kept ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] Best graphic design interface?

I was wondering what the best free linux graphic design interface was? Possibly one from the ubuntu one software center. I tried boa constructor and it was glitchy and kept crashing. I want something very easy to use and as simple as possible as i am new to programming. I want something that also supports the major programming languages like python C++, etc and was also wondering where i could go to learn codes for python and how to use whatever designer you suggest.

Linux User
    First off, check out Wikipedia's list of open source graphics software.

But there really are a lot of choices with Linux -- the biggest problem is picking one.

The GNU Image Manipulation Program (GIMP) provides a graphical user interface for manipulating raster graphics, reminiscent of Adobe Photoshop, but geared more towards computer geeks (i.e. not as easy to use). But it does allow for scripting and batch processing in Python. Then there are programs with nice graphical user interfaces like MeshLab (3D triangle meshes), InkScape, and Synfig (2D, can also do Animations).
    Code:
    apt-get install gimp
    apt-get install inkscape
    apt-get install synfig
    apt-get install meshlab
    As far as programming languages go, Python by far is the easiest to learn, and because it is so easy for programmers to connect it to their own libraries you will find that most major 2D/3D graphics libraries and image processing libraries have Python bindings (bindings means, the ability to use functionality of the code library from within a Python program). On Ubuntu you don't need to install Python yourself, it is installed by default.