Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi guys I'm new to this forum, so hello to all. I have done quite a bit of searching for this but so far nothing I've found helps to answer ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

tail log file, pipe to grep and email output

Hi guys

I'm new to this forum, so hello to all.

I have done quite a bit of searching for this but so far nothing I've found helps to answer my question.

OK.... here we go.

I'm relatively new to bash scripting but I'd like to produce a script to solve my issue, so I'll explain what I'm trying to achieve.

I want to tail a log file and grep for a specific entry....

# tail -f /var/log/messages | grep "search string"

If the grep produces an output then I want to email the output as an alert.

Problem is I'm not sure of the best way to approach this. Also I don't want someone to say "here you go, here's a script I have already". I'd like to achieve some of this myself. I'm just stuck with the right direction to head in.

If some of you kind people can give me some pointers I'd be really grateful, or some similar examples.

Thank you in advance.

Mikey

Just Joined!

Sending a line item through email

# tail -f /var/log/messages | grep "search string"

It sounds like you are on the right track.

Have you ever worked with cron or crontab?

You can use cron to schedule a time to run a particular process ("grep" for instance).

Since this is a site to help people resolve problems, take a look at this way, you might want to look at putting this in a file and executing it from a cron job:

lookup=grep -i "`date "+%b %d`" /var/log/messages | egrep -i "search string" # lookups today's info and egrep looks up multiple search strings

echo $lookup | mail -s "search string" <email address>

That is a good start; however, there are a multitude of ways to get this done.