Find the answer to your Linux question:
I use gnome 2 and I was wondering how can one add functions to the drop-down menu when you right-click onto a file. The particular motivation for this is that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Add functions to right-click drop-down menu

I use gnome 2 and I was wondering how can one add functions to the drop-down menu when you right-click onto a file. The particular motivation for this is that I'd like to get an option when right-clicking on a .tex file that would allow to compile it and get the output files in the same directory. The idea is to avoid using the command line or any LaTeX editor with a built-in compiler. How difficult is to do that?

I'm relatively new at Linux, I always used newbie friendly distros and I did never get really into the insides of scripting, so please feel free to redirect me to another forum if the question doesn't fit here.

Trusted Penguin
    write a bash script that will do what you need it to do. have it take your file (the one you are right-clicking on) as the first argument. Here's a short example:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    file=$@
    echo The file is $file
    xmessage "The file is $file"
    # do compiling, etc, stuff with $file now...
    Call this file myprog.sh and put it in the ~/.gnome2/nautilus-scripts/ directory. Don't forget to make it executable, e.g.:
    Code:
    chmod +x ~/.gnome2/nautilus-scripts/myprog.sh
    Run it from the command line to make sure it works, e.g.:
    Code:
    ~/.gnome2/nautilus-scripts/myprog.sh /tmp/file.txt
    To test it, open the nautilus file manager and right-click a file (or use a file on the desktop), and select Open With, then browse to your myprog.sh script.

Just Joined!