Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi. I am a newbie. Is it possible to Change the IP address of the server using bash CGI. If it is, can some one give me basic bash cgi ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Changing the IP address of the server using bash CGI

Hi.

I am a newbie.

Is it possible to Change the IP address of the server using bash CGI.

If it is, can some one give me basic bash cgi code to do this?

Please assist.

Theoretically yes, but there is a high chance of
    - killing your connection or
    - disconnected the whole server or
    - interfere with the other server config (firewall, other listening daemons, sync processes, etc)

Imho, there is a difference in what can be done vs what should be done.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Also, this cgi script will need elevated privileges, which is also not recommended.

What do you actually try to achieve, what is your usecase?
    In general, dhcp can be used for central IP control.
    Usually at boot time.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Just Joined!
    I have a device which has a linux O.S onboard.
    I am attempting to create a webpage that will be used to configure the device (e.g. change the IP address from the webpage).
    I managed to view the environmental attributes form the webpage, but how do I change them (just the IP address)?

Just Joined!

why change IP

There may be a number of reasons for changing IPs - and some of them might even be legitimate! Generally, though, there's a reason you've got the IP you have. It's either statically assigned, self-assigned or it was obtained from a DHCP server on the network.