Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone!! i'm new to shell scripting and am having a problem. I'm trying to write a bash script to scan all the sub directories in the directory path specified ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Bash Scripting Problem

Hello everyone!! i'm new to shell scripting and am having a problem. I'm trying to write a bash script to scan all the sub directories in the directory path specified as an argument for .avi, .mp4, .mkv, and .wmv files which will be moved into a directory in my home folder but when the script encounters a file or directory name with white space characters it only gets the name up to the first white space character. I need to find a way to get the entire string including white space characters. Many thanks in advance!!

This is my shell code:

Code:
    #!/bin/bash

#Shell Function "scandir()"

scandir() {
           local dname="$1"
           local entry[100]=""

cd $dname
           echo "********************"
           pwd

for entry in $dname/*
           do
    		if [ -d "$entry" ]
    		then
    			scandir $entry
    		elif [ -f "$entry" ]
    		then
    			if [[ $entry == *.mp4 || $entry == *.avi || $entry == *.wmv || $entry == *.mkv ]]
    			then
    				mv -v "$entry" /home/gurbos/Videos
    			fi	
    		fi
          done

cd ".."

}

#Execute code

scandir "$1"

exit 0
    Last edited by gurbos; 06-30-2012 at 03:01 AM.

Linux Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by gurbos View Post