Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By atreyu
Hi All, I am new to the Linux service world, and I am attempting to write a sys v init script for a server which responds to tcp/ip requests. In ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

daemon /etc/init.d/functions does not return from launching process

Hi All,

I am new to the Linux service world, and I am attempting to write a sys v init script for a server which responds to tcp/ip requests. In my start routine, I call daemon to launch the process. However, it just hangs, unless I try to run daemon as a background process then "status" reports the server as "ools dead but subsys locked". However, the internal tool to check it's status, shows that it is running. I am confused by the daemon function, and, therefore, I am probably misusing it.

The following is the relevant script code:

Code:
    # Source function library
    . /etc/init.d/functions

# Path to the server binary, etc.
    exec="installdir/bin/ools"
    prog=$(basename $exec)
    OOLS_OPTIONS="ools_args"

lockfile="/var/lock/subsys/$prog"
    pidfile="/var/run/$prog.pid"

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=installdir/lib

# Start the service ools
    start() {
        [ -x $exec ] || exit 5
        echo -n $"Starting project_fullName project_version Lock Server Version \
        ls_version daemon $prog: "
        # if not running, start it up here
        daemon --pidfile=$pidfile $prog $OOLS_OPTIONS
        retval=$?
        echo
        [ $retval -eq 0 ] && touch $lockfile
        return $retval
    }
    Can anyone give me a clue on how to debug this or what I may be missing from the "daemon" function? Thank you very much in advance.

Trusted Penguin
    i've fought with the daemon function provided by the /etc/init.d/functions script before...it can help to edit that script to make it echo what it is doing, so that you can troubleshoot it.