Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I'm new to programming in Linux- you can kinda say I'm new to programming in general. I have only had experience in Uniy3D with C# - a little experience ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Writing Binary Front ends? (C++)

Hi.
    I'm new to programming in Linux- you can kinda say I'm new to programming in general.
    I have only had experience in Uniy3D with C# - a little experience in Silverlight and then I went on to a little WP7 silverlight.
    I have studied but not learnt C/C++ when I was about 12/13- I'm 17 now so would like to put it to some good use.

The problem is, I'm always focused to much on flying and doing barrel rolls, before I have even learn't to walk. I have studied ASM and kernel development - it's what I did through my school life - Every waking moment I was studying kernel development - learning about IA_32 instruction set and reading documentation all based around that.
    Because of all this studying I have a strong theory based background , but it's wasted with the lack of programming knowledge I have.

Thats my story over with. I guess my current goal is to learn how to walk.
    I want to write a simple GUI front end to the update-grub and grub-install application's.

I have become educated about the system() call but I can't find any information on handling any output from the calls them self.
    I don't know if system() is the best function to use.

How would I go about inputing , calling , gathering and analyzing data from the terminal?

This little project will also get me more in tune with the MVC model - it sure hell is more understandable then the Model View View-Model model...

Anyway, thanks for any replies. I appreciate your time.

Linux Newbie