Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
I am new to linux, I have an assignment for my operating system class, I don't know where to start. The question is Create a Linux shell (in other words, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux programmin help

I am new to linux, I have an assignment for my operating system class, I don't know where to start. The question is

Create a Linux shell (in other words, write a C program) that will recursively prompt for input from the user. The shell should prompt as
    yourRollNumber-currentDirectoryName>

For instance if the current directory is /home/OS and your roll number is 1234567, the shell should prompt as:
    1234567-OS>

any help in this regard will be highly appreciated. Let me know where to start Please..............

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by ooommii View Post
    I am new to linux, I have an assignment for my operating system class, I don't know where to start. The question is

Create a Linux shell (in other words, write a C program) that will recursively prompt for input from the user. The shell should prompt as
    yourRollNumber-currentDirectoryName>

For instance if the current directory is /home/OS and your roll number is 1234567, the shell should prompt as:
    1234567-OS>

any help in this regard will be highly appreciated. Let me know where to start Please..............
    Have a look at this link, it might help

Just Joined!
    [

well thanks, I am not looking for how to change the outlook. I am looking for procedures running background using command ls, pwd etc. I have to write a program in c, that prompt for user input and show your working directory, thanks

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Still not entirely sure what your question is, but here's how to get the current working dir.

Code:
    ${PWD##*/}