Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello. I'm fairly new to C, Linux and Makefiles. I need some help with an issue involving all three. In the following situation, (if I understand what I read), the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

C, Makefiles, and compiling debug info into your code

Hello. I'm fairly new to C, Linux and Makefiles. I need some help with an issue involving all three.

In the following situation, (if I understand what I read), the code between the #if..#endif should be compiled, but the while loop will not execute. When I try to run it, it seems that the code between the #if..#endif is not executing (or maybe just not being compiled). Am I doing something wrong? Or am I understanding the documentation wrong?

Compile statement (notice the -DDELAY=0):
    Code:
    /usr/local/mpi/bin/mpicc  -Wall -g -DDELAY=0  -I/home/schwarz/sundials/instdir/include -I/usr/local/mpi/bin/../include -c FPU.c
    /usr/local/mpi/bin/mpicc -o FPU FPU.o  -Wall -g -DDELAY=0  -L/home/schwarz/sundials/instdir/lib -lsundials_cvode -lsundials_nvecparallel -lm  -L/usr/local/mpi/bin/../lib
    C source code (excerpted for brevity):
    Code:
    #if DELAY
      {
        /* Pause execution so gdb can attach. Swiped from open-mpi[DOT]org[SLASH]faq[SLASH][QUESTION]category=debugging#serial-debuggers, number 1 */
        pid_t PID;
        char hostname[256];
        int i=DELAY;

gethostname(hostname, sizeof(hostname));
        PID=getpid();
        printf("PID %d on %s waiting for gdb to attach:\n", PID=getpid(), hostname);
        fflush(stdout);

while (i>0) {
          printf("PID %d on %s will wait  for `gdb` to attach for %d more iterations.\n", PID, hostname, i);
          fflush(stdout);
          sleep(5);
          i--;
        }
      }
    #endif