Find the answer to your Linux question:
I Have been using linux for eight years or so, and have been teaching myself C++ for one. I picked C++ after researching which language to begin learning. I choose ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

C++ and hardware configure

I Have been using linux for eight years or so, and have been teaching myself C++ for one. I picked C++ after researching which language to begin learning. I choose it because linux is written in it and it is powerful enough to write hardware drivers. Will learning C++ make it to where eventually I understand hardware at a kernel level and can configure it without needing to constantly read docs? Right now I can think of lsusb command, but when the list of usb devices scrolls across the screen it might as well be displayed in Greek. Running commands like "firefox" from xfce console displays that "do not have permission, display0 is already running". Does that mean if I had another display I could type "firefox display1" (or something) and it will come up on the other display? In other words I am more interested in hardware config than development, how can I learn machine talk for devices?

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Quote Originally Posted by rossrogue View Post
    I Have been using linux for eight years or so, and have been teaching myself C++ for one. I picked C++ after researching which language to begin learning. I choose it because linux is written in it and it is powerful enough to write hardware drivers.
    Actually, this is incorrect. The Linux kernel is written in C and assembler. Many applications and GUI window managers are written in C++. Device drivers MUST be written in C and NOT C++ at the present time.

Will learning C++ make it to where eventually I understand hardware at a kernel level and can configure it without needing to constantly read docs?