Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Driver Development. I was actually trying to avoid it on this project, but I think what I want to do requires it. Lets assume that I don't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie Question about Virtual Device Driver

I'm new to Driver Development. I was actually trying to avoid it on this project, but I think what I want to do requires it. Lets assume that I don't know anything about Linux and C/C++.

What I want to do is simulate hardware attached to my system. Please let me know if I'm going in the right direction.

I'm building a simple C++ application to asynchronously command and monitor hardware devices. This is really just for a learning experience, I believe that I have a solid design for this part of the application. Since my hardware being controlled is fictional, I need a way to simulate the hardware. So this project is divided into 2 parts, the manager and simulator.

In the Manager I'm using UDEV to identify the attached devices. So what I need the Simulator to do is to create the fake devices so that UDEV can find them and open a communication line to them. I envision the Simulated devices being simple Socket Servers that respond to the incoming requests from the managing software.

This seems like a problem that has been solved many times over. I think I need to implement a Virtual Driver in order to create the fake devices.

Am I headed in the right direction wiith this?

Thanks

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.