Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Everyone! I am very new to BASH scripting and was hoping for some help. I am working on a project for my Linux class, and am quite confused. We ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to BASH scripting help

Hello Everyone!

I am very new to BASH scripting and was hoping for some help. I am working on a project for my Linux class, and am quite confused. We each need to design our own advanced BASH script. This is what I thought of I would like to have a text file act as a database with MD5 sums of files placed in there. Then when you fire up the shell script it references that file and then searches all files for a match with that MD5. After finding a match it then moves those file files into a folder. I figure they could search for a couple of text documents that I created. I am familar with grep, read, and the md5sum commands. I just do not know how to pull this together. Maybe this is not even possible with BASH, but any help would really be appreciated.

Thanks

Just Joined!
    It looks like md5deep may be more appropriate for this. Anyone agree?

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by aaron9615 View Post
    Hello Everyone!