Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello everybody, I'm new to Linux and to this forum so bear with me if you find my question to be so simple, need help and I can't figure this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Pass filename to a variable, shell script

Hello everybody, I'm new to Linux and to this forum so bear with me if you find my question to be so simple, need help and I can't figure this out, I guess for you will be a piece of cake.

I'm making an automatic backup of a Asterisk system, the resulting file name is a complex name so it's not a fixed filename. I am able to retrieve the file name with the following command:
    "find *.tar -type f -mtime -1", better yet, "find /var/www/backup/*.tar -type f -mtime -1".

What I'm trying to do on a script is pass the result of that command into a variable which I can read later on the same script and transfer file to a FTP server that I have already set up.

How do I run a command and pass the result to a variable? (that is get the filename into a variable that I can read using $FILE, for example). I guess it would be a simple thing to do but for some reason I can't get to it.

Thanks in advance.

Linux Enthusiast
    There is an example for you to play with and get it to do what you want.

Code:
    # creating an array called "tar_file_list"
    tar_file_list=( $(find /var/www/backup/*.tar -type f -mtime -1) )
    # access the length of the array
    echo There are "${#tar_file_list[@]}" files found.
    # direct usage within loop
    for tar_file in "${tar_file_list[@]}"; do
        echo "${tar_file}"
    done
    # using indexing:
    echo The fist name in the list is: "${tar_file_list[0]}"
    echo The second name in the list is: "${tar_file_list[1]}"
    # using a loop of the indexes for the array
    for idx in "${!tar_file_list[@]}"; do
        echo "${tar_file_list[${idx}]}"
    done

Just Joined!