Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, I'm new to scripting and feeling my way through. I've been working on a bash script using wget to get pieces of information from the internet, but I've ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie text manipulation question

Hi guys,
    I'm new to scripting and feeling my way through.

I've been working on a bash script using wget to get pieces of information from the internet, but I've run across a problem.

wget will download the web source fine, but I'm struggling to grep the useful info out of the resulting file, because often there will be more than one piece of useful data per line, ie. I'm trying to grep particular urls out of the source and there will be more than one url on each line.

My standard way of using grep would be something like
    cat wgetdownload.txt | grep urlbasegoeshere | cut -d '/' -f 6

But this method will miss data points because of the multiple urls on each line.

Is there an easy way to ask the computer to read through the file, and every time it sees a particular string, print what's directly afterwards, rather than printing every line where that string occurs?

Thanks for your help.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by scattermouse_ View Post
    Hi guys,
    I'm new to scripting and feeling my way through.

I've been working on a bash script using wget to get pieces of information from the internet, but I've run across a problem.

wget will download the web source fine, but I'm struggling to grep the useful info out of the resulting file, because often there will be more than one piece of useful data per line, ie. I'm trying to grep particular urls out of the source and there will be more than one url on each line.

My standard way of using grep would be something like
    cat wgetdownload.txt | grep urlbasegoeshere | cut -d '/' -f 6

But this method will miss data points because of the multiple urls on each line.