Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32
Like Tree1Likes
libtool is installed, and version info is the followeing: Code: > uname -mrs Linux 2.6.32.12 armv5tel > uname -a Linux 2.6.32.12 #3810 Wed Nov 6 05:12:32 CST 2013 armv5tel GNU/Linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15

    libtool is installed, and version info is the followeing:
    Code:
    > uname -mrs
    Linux 2.6.32.12 armv5tel
    > uname -a
    Linux 2.6.32.12 #3810 Wed Nov 6 05:12:32 CST 2013 armv5tel GNU/Linux synology_88f6281_212j
    > cat /proc/version
    Linux version 2.6.32.12 (root@build2) (gcc version 4.2.1) #3810 Wed Nov 6 05:12:32 CST 2013
    And a new extraction leads to the same error:
    Code:
    > ./autogen.sh
    Running aclocal
    ./autogen.sh: line 50: aclocal: not found
    
      Something went wrong, bailing out!
    any idea, what I could do to fix this, maybe working without IPKG? I mean, the files are there, it just doesn't find them :-/

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    228
    Have a look in /opt/bin (from your earlier posts) - the directory that shows up the results of your "find" for aclocal.

    Look at the links made there. From what you posted, they do not match.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15
    Hey, you mean this?
    Code:
    > dir acl*
    -rwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         31107 Jan 20 19:12 aclocal
    -rwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         31107 Jan 20 19:12 aclocal-1.12
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            12 Jan 15 22:16 aclocal2 -> aclocal-1.12
    actually there initially has been only the aclocal-1.12 that's why I first symlinked it (now aclocal2) and then hardcopied it to aclocal

    what's not matching, what should I do?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Molt View Post
    ......
    So, I'm having the tesseract source code in /volume2/Docs/tesseract-ocr
    and am trying to run autogen.sh which results in
    Code:
    > sh autogen.sh
    autogen.sh: line 50: aclocal: not found
    line 50 is reading
    Code:
    aclocal -I config || bail_out
    even adding /opt/bin/ to line 50 doesn't help..
    ......

    Let's assume you have /opt/bin/aclocal (you definitely see it there).
    Give here the output of the following:

    Code:
    ls -l /opt/bin/aclocal
    
    file /opt/bin/aclocal
    
    readelf -A /opt/bin/aclocal
    
    uname -a
    If the problem is what I suppose it is, it is quite possible you to see the answer in the output, however, give it here for others having similar problems. Such things happen from time to time when cross compiling to incompatible target architecture

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15
    Code:
    > ls -l /opt/bin/aclocal
    -rwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         31107 Jan 20 19:12 /opt/bin/aclocal
    >
    > file /opt/bin/aclocal
    -bash: file: not found
    
    > readelf -A /opt/bin/aclocal
    readelf: Error: Unable to read in 0x6c72 bytes of section headers
    readelf: Error: Not an ELF file - it has the wrong magic bytes at the start
    
    > uname -a
    Linux 2.6.32.12 #3810 Wed Nov 6 05:12:32 CST 2013 armv5tel GNU/Linux synology_88f6281_212j
    So you'd reckon I can read my problem from this...this is putting pressure on me
    I mean, I thought it could be the ELF thing, but then again refering to google that refers to binary files. The aclocal is a readable perl script, though.

    Please enlighten me

    thanks for your help guys!

  7. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    228
    Sorry. My page was a bit messed up and didn't show clearly the final target.

    You don't have access to "file"? What's your $PATH env var look like.

    You might try to echo $PATH from inside the autogen.sh file and see if it makes sense.

    So aclocal is a perl script huh? Can you print out the first few lines?

  8. #17
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,472
    Quote Originally Posted by Molt View Post
    Code:
    > ls -l /opt/bin/aclocal
    -rwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         31107 Jan 20 19:12 /opt/bin/aclocal
    >
    > file /opt/bin/aclocal
    -bash: file: not found
    
    > readelf -A /opt/bin/aclocal
    readelf: Error: Unable to read in 0x6c72 bytes of section headers
    readelf: Error: Not an ELF file - it has the wrong magic bytes at the start
    
    > uname -a
    Linux 2.6.32.12 #3810 Wed Nov 6 05:12:32 CST 2013 armv5tel GNU/Linux synology_88f6281_212j
    So you'd reckon I can read my problem from this...this is putting pressure on me
    I mean, I thought it could be the ELF thing, but then again refering to google that refers to binary files. The aclocal is a readable perl script, though.

    Please enlighten me

    thanks for your help guys!


    If there is a package prepared for your systems installer it would be best to install using it unless you have a compelling reason to do otherwise. Otherwise going over the suggested compilation steps to see that you haven't missed anything might be worthwhile. Make sure that the package your trying to compile is compatible with your system.

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by voidpointer69 View Post
    You don't have access to "file"? What's your $PATH env var look like.

    You might try to echo $PATH from inside the autogen.sh file and see if it makes sense.
    Code:
    > echo $PATH
    /opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/syno/sbin:/usr/syno/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin
    and from inside the autogen.script it is pretty much the same
    Code:
    /opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/syno/sbin:/usr/syno/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by voidpointer69 View Post
    So aclocal is a perl script huh? Can you print out the first few lines?
    Code:
    #!/volume2/(at)appstore/Perl/usr/perl -w
    # -*- perl -*-
    # Generated from aclocal.in; do not edit by hand.
    
    eval 'case $# in 0) exec /volume2/(at)appstore/Perl/usr/bin/perl -S "$0";; *) exec /volume2/(at)appstore/Perl/usr/bin/perl -S "$0" "$@";; esac'
        if 0;
    
    # aclocal - create aclocal.m4 by scanning configure.ac
    
    # Copyright (C) 1996-2012 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    
    # This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
    # it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
    # the Free Software Foundation; either version 2, or (at your option)
    # any later version.
    
    # This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
    # but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
    # MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
    # GNU General Public License for more details.
    
    # You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
    # along with this program. 
    
    # Written by Tom Tromey and
    # Alexandre Duret-Lutz.
    
    BEGIN
    {
      my $perllibdir = $ENV{'perllibdir'} || '/opt/share/automake-1.12';
      unshift @INC, (split ':', $perllibdir);
    }
    
    use strict;
    
    use Automake::Config;
    use Automake::General;
    use Automake::Configure_ac;
    use Automake::Channels;
    use Automake::ChannelDefs;
    use Automake::XFile;
    use Automake::FileUtils;
    use File::Basename;
    use File::Path ();
    
    # Some globals.
    
    # We do not operate in threaded mode.
    $perl_threads = 0;

    Quote Originally Posted by gregm View Post
    If there is a package prepared for your systems installer it would be best to install using it unless you have a compelling reason to do otherwise.
    haha, nice tip. Trust me I' doing this not only for the mere purpose of fun
    There is only tesseract 2.x available precompiled (via IPKG), but I neet the hOCR abilities of 3.x

    Quote Originally Posted by gregm View Post
    Otherwise going over the suggested compilation steps to see that you haven't missed anything might be worthwhile. Make sure that the package your trying to compile is compatible with your system.
    Well, how can I make sure, it is possible to compile? I have no clue what to look for - I thought it would be possible to compile on all linux systems.

    Instructions on cimpiling are telling me to start with ./autogen.sh - and this is where I'm stuck
    Code:
    Tesseract uses a standard autotools based build system, so the compilation process should be familiar.
    
    ./autogen.sh
    ./configure
    make
    sudo make install
    sudo ldconfig
    On some systems autotools does not create m4 directory automatically (giving the error: "configure: error: cannot find macro directory 'm4'"). In this case you must create m4 directory (mkdir m4), and then rerun the above commands starting with ./configure.
    Going through that file, what happened so far is actually creaking the directory m4 and creating config-dir too. Both worked fine. Then the aclocal call comes and we all know the result ;-(


    any more ideas? I mean, if it was thorwing some complex errors during compilation, I'd probably be fine..but not being able to call a file isn't enough for me to give up...

  11. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Molt View Post
    ...So you'd reckon I can read my problem from this...this is putting pressure on me
    I mean, I thought it could be the ELF thing, but then again refering to google that refers to binary files. The aclocal is a readable perl script, though.

    Please enlighten me
    ...
    arghhhh! Shame on me, then.
    I've had "file not found" error once upon a time when tried to run hard-float binary on soft-float system. Some other time I hit "Permission denied" in similar case, too. There was another one, but is a bit more fancy message and cannot write it now.

    So, let's digg a little bit more then.

    In addition to #16 by voidpointer69, can you insert these into autogen.sh, before line 50 with aclocal command:

    Code:
    which aclocal
    type aclocal
    ls -l /opt/bin/aclocal

    ... and to run /opt/bin/aclocal by your hands in your terminal (not from within autogen.sh) to see if you will get same error.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •