Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
Like Tree1Likes
Hey guys, I'm as new to this forum as I am to linux - hope I'm not making to many mistakes right at the start I am having a synology ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15

    Problems with compiling source code to ARM binaries


    Hey guys,

    I'm as new to this forum as I am to linux - hope I'm not making to many mistakes right at the start

    I am having a synology 212j DiskStation NAS featuring a "Marvell Kirkwood mv6281 1.2Ghz ARM (Marvell ARMADA 300)" CPU. My big plan is to scan stuff directly onto the NAS, where it is being converted to sandwich PDFs, which are searchable.

    I tried quite a few things so far and ended up with trying to compile tesseract 3.02 for my CPU. I have ipkg on my NAS, which offers make, automake, gcc and some other stuff I came through on my journey through different websites. Right now I am failing at getting the command adlocal to work, which seems weird to me since /opt/bin is in my PATH variable and I can run run aclocal being in that directory, but not from anywhere else. This is why I think compiling isn't working...


    So, I'm having the tesseract source code in /volume2/Docs/tesseract-ocr
    and am trying to run autogen.sh which results in
    Code:
    > sh autogen.sh
    autogen.sh: line 50: aclocal: not found
    line 50 is reading
    Code:
    aclocal -I config || bail_out

    even adding /opt/bin/ to line 50 doesn't help..


    Soooo, anybody able of helping me, would be great!"
    thanks a lot in advance

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,374
    You mention automake - did you install all of autotools? Automake is just one part of the package.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15
    autoconf and automake are installed,
    they are the only auto* available through ipkg (despite autossh), should I have more?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,374
    Autotools are libtool, autoconf and automake but aclocal should have installed with automake.

    Have you tried a find for aclocal?
    i.e.
    Code:
    find / -name aclocal* 2>/dev/null

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15
    interesting:
    Code:
    /volume2/@optware/share/aclocal
    /volume2/@optware/share/aclocal-1.12
    /volume2/@optware/share/man/man1/aclocal.1
    /volume2/@optware/share/man/man1/aclocal-1.12.1
    /volume2/@optware/share/libtool/libltdl/aclocal.m4
    /volume2/@optware/bin/aclocal
    /volume2/@optware/bin/aclocal-1.12
    /volume2/@optware/bin/aclocal2
    /volume2/Docs/tesseract-ocr/aclocal.m4
    /usr/syno/mysql/share/aclocal
    to explain:
    Code:
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            17 Jan 12 15:51 opt -> /volume2/@optware
    Value of $PATH is
    Code:
    /opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/syno/sbin:/usr/syno/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin
    /opt/bin contains
    Code:
    -rwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         31107 Jan 20 19:12 aclocal
    -rwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         31107 Jan 20 19:12 aclocal-1.12
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            12 Jan 15 22:16 aclocal2 -> aclocal-1.12
    Any idea, how to procede...any more information needed?

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,374
    If, when you type:
    Code:
    which aclocal
    you see the correct path, then I'd suggest invoke autogen.sh thusly:
    Code:
    ./autogen.sh
    and see if that works.

    It may be that dash won't follow the link?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15
    Code:
    > which aclocal
    /opt/bin/aclocal
    Code:
    > ./autogen.sh
    Running aclocal
    ./autogen.sh: line 50: aclocal: not found
    
      Something went wrong, bailing out!
    even when i add the full path to aclocal, it fails
    Code:
    > ./autogen.sh
    Running aclocal
    ./autogen.sh: line 50: /volume2/@optware/bin/aclocal: not found
    
      Something went wrong, bailing out!
    hmm

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,374
    I wonder if it's config it's not finding? The error message may be misleading.
    Type:
    Code:
    find ./ -name config
    and at line 49 of autogen.sh add:
    Code:
    pwd

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15
    Code:
    > find ./ -name config
    ./config
    Code:
    > ./autogen.sh
    Running aclocal
    /volume2/Docs/tesseract-ocr
    ./autogen.sh: line 51: /volume2/@optware/bin/aclocal: not found
    
      Something went wrong, bailing out!

    i just don't get it
    could it have to do with some properties/rights?

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,374
    If you haven't installed libtool you probably should do that and then perhaps delete tesseract and then unpack it again and start fresh. See what comes up.

    What version of Linux are you running?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •