Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Intelligent eval. of e-mail content (value extraction and comparison)

Hi,

I'm a Linux newbie and I wonder if there exists an e-mail client that solves my problem, or if I can solve it by pipelining the output from an e-mail client to some external applications(s) and/or script(s).

You see, from time to time I receive a message that contains, among other things in its body, such a string:

Length: xxx.xx meters

Of course it's easy to configure an e-mail application to check all incoming messages for such a string and to play a sound when such a message arrives.

However, what I need is playing a warning tone only when the value of length is higher than 100.00 meters.

As a newbie, I have no idea how I could solve this problem quickly and easily, but I hope this is the right group on the forum to ask such a question.

Could you help me?
    Last edited by MichalPL; 02-13-2018 at 09:30 PM.

Email is the wrong tool.

Look at monitoring tools like icinga.
    https://github.com/Icinga/icinga2

Will it solve your problem quickly and easily as a self-proclaimed newbie?
    No, but a monitoring tool is the right direction to go.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Hi Irithori,

I'm not sure whether your reply refers to the way of analyzing e-mail messages that I seek or to the very fact that I want to monitor length of somethig via e-mail. As for the latter one, I have no control over it as it's inflicted upon me by my client.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Both.

Email is primarily for humans.
    It is too complex and varying for a monitoring solution.
    Is parsing an email body possible? Yes.
    Will I advise this? No.

Emails go through various email servers, blacklists, spam detection.
    They can be in html or text.
    Maybe there are attachments. Do they need to be parsed, too?