Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I am a complete newbie that wants to learn to program. So the question is what is a good programming language to learn first? Also, what was the first programming ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

First Programming Language

I am a complete newbie that wants to learn to program. So the question is what is a good programming language to learn first? Also, what was the first programming language that you learned?

Thx.

Linux Guru
    if you want to learn to program in a linux environment, i would recommend learning C first off. If you want to do web design work, then HTML and PHP would be a good startind point.

C is a good language to learn first, as it teaches you a lot about programming concepts, how to write well structured programs etc. A lot of other languages are based on C style syntax.

I learned HTML, then Coldfusion in a windows environment, before moving to C in a linux environment. I am now learning PHP and C++.

Jason

Just Joined!
    A lot of people probably wouldn't agree with me on this, but java is an excelent language to start with. Although it is hard to think of uses for very simple programs, it is a very well documented language. It uses a very silamer syntax to c++, therfore it is easy to move on to c++ once you have mastered java.