Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi folks, I am sorry for asking this, for sure the stupidest question ever made in this forum. I am trying to learn Perl to manipulate text files produced and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Newbie question about Perl

Hi folks,

I am sorry for asking this, for sure the stupidest question ever made in this forum. I am trying to learn Perl to manipulate text files produced and used by several programs. I must also say that I am very new to linux. I have perl 5.8.3 running in SuSE 9.1 personal. In my computer Perl is in /usr/bin/perl, as reported by "which". Ok, I wrote a small "Hello World" program just to begin:

#! /usr/bin/perl
    print "Hello, world";

saved it on a file named xxx.pl, made it executable and then run in the konsole:

perl xxx.pl

and what happens is that now my prompt is:

Hello, worldhernan@linux:~/Documents/sangra>

that is, the output of the program appears in the promt.

Do you have any advice?

Thanks

Hernan

scm
    Linux Engineer
    Whats happening is that your perl program isn't putting out a newline, so your prompt is following straight after the 'd' of "world". Change your script to
    Code:
    print "Hello, world\n";
    and see the difference!

Thanks scm!!!

Hernan

scm
    Linux Engineer
    Quote Originally Posted by hernandeangelis
    Thanks scm!!!
    Whenever you see Linux/UNIX doing something apparently bizarre, there's usually a logical (if obscure!) reason for it. I once saw a student try to join two files with the command
    Code:
    cat file1 file2 >file2