Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am a bit of a newbie to linux and can do some things. I have managed to get everything up and running correctly. But I dont know how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

User script

Hi, I am a bit of a newbie to linux and can do some things. I have managed to get everything up and running correctly.

But I dont know how to do any shell scripting. And I want to write one that will do the following.

[root@localhost /]# ./webuser <username> <password> <quota>

Would create a user on the system. With a disk quota based on MB specified in the command line, and add a folder called 'www' with in the user's home dir. Oh yea and it would also create a mySQL user and a db called bn_USERNAME.
    Can anyone take some time to help me do this? Maybe teach me some basics about how this would be done.

Linux Engineer
    Well, I don't have MySQL so I can't help you out in those parts but I'll get you started.
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh

# The first line above MUST be exactly as you see it. executes a subshell and runs the following commands

# In scripting &#40;Bourne&#41;, $1 - $9 represent the command line arguments
    # $0 is the name of the script. You can also make variables using '$'
    echo "First field&#58; $1"
    echo "Second field&#58; $2"
    echo "Third field&#58; $3"
    Save this file as "webuser" and set the executable permissions for it (chmod +a webuser or chmod 755 webuser). Once that's done, try running it like the way you have it.
    Code:
    $ ./webuser brock mypasswd 1500
    It should print out the values you gave in. So this the most basic thing I can teach you. You'll now have to use builtin commands (i.e: useradd) to help you along the way but it shouldn't be hard at all. Let me know if you run into trouble.
    The best things in life are free.

Just Joined!
    Excelent! I got it to add a user I dont know how to set a quota tho... Any ideas there?