Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am attempting to write a script in PHP to create a new user, a home directory, and chown/chmod the directory so that it can be used by the new ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Creating new users with PHP

I am attempting to write a script in PHP to create a new user, a home directory, and chown/chmod the directory so that it can be used by the new user via FTP. My problem is that PHP will not allow me to execute useradd, chmod, or chown, since my web server is not running as root (obviously). I have tried using PHP to execute a shell script, and just passing the shell script the variables from PHP using shell_exec(). My problem now is, my script doesn't seem to work quite right. This is probably an easy fix, but this is my first time working with shell scripts. Take a look.
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    #include <sys/types.h>
    #include <unistd.h>

setuid&#40;0&#41;;
    useradd -d $1 -g teachers -m -k $2 -p $3 -s /dev/null $4
    chown $4&#58;teachers $1
    chmod 755 $1
    As you can see, I am attempting to run the script as root, so that useradd, chown, and chmod will work. $1 is the home directory, $2 is the skeleton directory, $3 is the encrypted password, and $4 is the username. If you know what I am doing wrong, or have an alternative idea, rather than using a shell script, PLEASE let me know. I need to get this part of my project finished relatively soon, which is why I'm asking for your help. Thanks in advance!

Linux Enthusiast
    Can I ask what purpose the lines
    Code:
    #include <sys/types.h>
    #include <unistd.h>
    serve ?

Linux Guru
    Well... I don't mean to be mean or anything, but it's rather obvious that it's your first time working with shell scripts. What you have described there is not a shell script, but some weird mixture of C and shell scripting.