Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been a Windows programmer for some times. I've written some Unix based C++ programs for myself over the years, but basically very simply things with either very simple make ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

configuring and makefiles and such

I've been a Windows programmer for some times. I've written some Unix based C++ programs for myself over the years, but basically very simply things with either very simple make files or sometimes just building them from the command line by hand.

Most applications one has to build come with configure and Makefile. configure is executeable and the Makefiles usually have options for installations and such.

My first question is in regards to configure. It appears that configure collects information specific to the system which I assume is then used to populate constants in a header file which are then used in the app to make decisions about how to deal with different system functionality that may or may not be installed. Since most apps come with a configure script, I take it it's not built into the system. Surely people don't write their own from scratch for each application.

Is my understanding generally correct? Is there a list somewhere of the data collected? Is configure "configurable" to collect certain information? Any information on this would be helpful.

My next question is in regards to make files. Are these generally done by hand or are there tools that people generally use for building the make files. If so, what tools?

Thanks.

Pete

Re: configuring and makefiles and such

Quote Originally Posted by pdavis68
    My next question is in regards to make files. Are these generally done by hand or are there tools that people generally use for building the make files. If so, what tools?

Thanks.

Pete