Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone!! When I started learning C from a book, it was mentioned that sizeof(int) is 2 bytes. I believed it blindly and never bothered to try it!! But when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

sizeof(int)

Hello everyone!!

When I started learning C from a book, it was mentioned that sizeof(int) is 2 bytes. I believed it blindly and never bothered to try it!!
    But when I did, I was surprised to see that the sizeof(int) is actually 4 bytes (the same as that of long int). I was told that it was because I tried on a 32-bit machine! I know that on a 16-bit machine it is 2 bytes, as it should be!!
    Can neone explain how the sizeof(int) depends on the how_many-bit machine I'm using, while the sizeof(other_datatypes) don't change??

Also how much will the sizeof(int) be on a 64-bit machine??

Linux Enthusiast
    The C standard doesn't specify the sizes of the integer types, only some vague relations between them; and the actual sizes differ between implementation choices; see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_varia...larations#Size

An int is usually the size of a single register on the processor on which your software is built to run. So for 16 bit operating systems (e.g. Windows 3.1, MSDOS), that'll be 16 bits, for 64 bit operating systems, its 64 bits.

You really shouldn't be relying on integers being a specific size, if you want to use fixed-size integers, then you'll find there are other declarations that you can use, but take care here, some of these can be compiler-based.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux User

inttypes.h

Uses declarations from inttypes.h

This header defines symbols wich are architecture independent...

uint32_t -> unsigned 32 bit integer
    int8_t -> signed 8 bit integer
    When using Windows, have you ever told "Ehi... do your business?"