Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Greetings to everyone at the forums. I'm new here as I am still fairly new to linux as well. Recently I've started a unix administration class, where we use red ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

automated account creation shell script (red hat Linux 9, bourne/bash)

Greetings to everyone at the forums. I'm new here as I am still fairly new to linux as well. Recently I've started a unix administration class, where we use red hat linux 9 as the OS of choice (I know Linux and Unix are two different things, but bear with me here.) for the class.

As a major project that's due out soon, we have to create a script that, based on data supplied from a text file, will create user accounts, directories, passwords, and user ids automatically, without any sort of intervention. In other words, the script must be able to pull the data off of the file without any sort of input from the keyboard.

I've been working dilligently on figuring this out and was thinking of a for/do loop, involving a read command. While there was data from the file to be read, data from the line would be placed into variables, and those variables placed into a useradd command wherever necessary. when the read command reached the end of the file, the loop would terminate, meeting the requirements. In any case, there's one small issue: the read command itself. First off, what do I have to do in order to specify a file as the read source? do I just put in the absolute file path such as:

read /home/dan/datafilekthxbye.txt

will this statement work? or do I have to do something different?