Find the answer to your Linux question:
First off, I am not a programmer; I am taking a problem solving class and we program in C. We do all of our programming with MS Visual Studio. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

including library functions using gcc

First off, I am not a programmer; I am taking a problem solving class and we program in C. We do all of our programming with MS Visual Studio. I am used to writing code and hitting the compile&link button. For example, I can compili&link this with no problems:
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    #include <math.h>

main&#40;&#41;
    &#123;    
        int i=5, j=0;

j = pow&#40;i,2&#41;;
        printf&#40;"J = %i", j&#41;;

&#125;
    When I try to compile the same code using Linux and gcc, gcc gives me an error message saying that pow() is undefined. What am I doing wrong?

Linux Engineer
    Indeed, this is odd. I've just checked /usr/include/math.h and it has no reference to function pow at all. What version of gcc are you using?
    The best things in life are free.

Just Joined!

problem solved (sort of)

Not that I claim to know what I am doing, but did you see the comment near the beginning of <math.h> that says the function defintions are in another file? I am not certain the pow() is actually there either. The actual function is not really important; we could use sqrt() for the sake of discussion. I had the bright idea of checking /usr/doc/Linux-HOWTO and found a GCC howto that I must have missed. The howto mention the -l (lower case L)arguement, which includes a specific library. So, I recompiled with gcc -lm -o file file.c(m is the math library; I didn't know that either. see man nm) which works great. But I don't understand why I need to specifically include libraries...

Linux Engineer