Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi! yall, I dont want to start up a debate here. I am relatively new to linux and was looking to learn either Perl or Python for scripting. I feel ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Perl vs Python

Hi! yall,

I dont want to start up a debate here.
    I am relatively new to linux and was looking to learn either Perl or Python for scripting.

I feel that if I am investing time learning a language I might as well learn the language that has more general purpose use.

Any/all comments or suggestions are welcome.
    I would like to know the upside and downside of learning the languages.

thanks in advance

Linux Engineer
    I recommend you to learn shellscripting and perl-scripting first. Thoose languages you can use on every unix-dialect there is. Then if you think is fun to program you can try python,C or C++.
    Regards

Andutt

Just Joined!
    thanks andutt! I am relatively new to linux not to programming.
    I am a bioinformatician( You must be thinking Bioinformatician who doesnt know perl!! -- well you found an exception) and have done some lisp,scheme , C++ and Java programs. I've used linux primarily via a remote login so never really done any administration.
    To be honest I have done some shell scripting and understand a little of perl. This effort is get linux as my full time os on my laptop( I always dual booted but never too often to linux).

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    The only difference is python's syntax is easier to read. Python looks cleaner but they both do the samething. OO on perl was more of a hack where python was built for it so hence it looks a little cleaner.

Just Joined!
    thanks guys!

Just Joined!

Ruby Anyone?

Hi there,