Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, i wonder if someone could help me. I'm new to shell scripts and i've tried to write this script, the aim of it is to check if the $4, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problems with my automation script

Hi, i wonder if someone could help me. I'm new to shell scripts and i've tried to write this script, the aim of it is to check if the $4, $5 etc variables are empty to avoid annoying errors when the program it calls tries to process an non existant file with no name
    I'm running fedora core 4 if that makes any difference.

I have two main problems

ONE

++++++++++++++++++
    the #!/bin/bash line as causes this error:

: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

the script (in an earlier simpler form) ran fine without it so i left it out for the time being

TWO

In it's new form the script keeps exiting with:

subst.codon: line 42: syntax error: unexpected end of file

Code:
         1  if ["$4" -ne ""]
         2  then
         3          subst -n $1 -p 1 -i "$4" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$4.1.txt;
         4          subst -n $1 -p 2 -i "$4" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$4.2.txt;
         5          subst -n $1 -p 3 -i "$4" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$4.3.txt;
         6  elseif ["$5" -ne ""]
         7  then
         8          subst -n $1 -p 1 -i "$5" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$5.1.txt;
         9          subst -n $1 -p 2 -i "$5" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$5.2.txt;
        10          subst -n $1 -p 3 -i "$5" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$5.3.txt;
        11  elseif ["$6" -ne ""]
        12  then
        13          subst -n $1 -p 1 -i "$6" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$6.1.txt;
        14          subst -n $1 -p 2 -i "$6" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$6.2.txt;
        15          subst -n $1 -p 3 -i "$6" $3 > ../output/$2/subst.codon/$6.3.txt;
        16  elseif ["$7" -ne ""]
        17  then