Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have my own server, but from time to time my IP address changes and when I am away from my Linux box I can't log into it, because of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Creating a script to notify me of an IP address change

I have my own server, but from time to time my IP address changes and when I am away from my Linux box I can't log into it, because of the address change. I'm new to all this, so what I'd like to do is create a script that notifies me when the IP address of my machine changes by emailing me the IP address to my yahoo account.

I know I have to do something like this:

1) ifconfig > ipaddress.txt
    2) tell it to wait a few minutes, maybe like two or so
    3) get the IP address again only, save it to a different file like ipaddress2.txt...somewhere around here I know I have to cut the IP address out of the txt file
    4) Then compare the two and if they're the same, do nothing, and if they are different email me the new IP

I know the steps I need to take to get it to work right, I just have a hard time figuring out the code to get it to work right. Thanks for any help.

Linux User

DNS service?

Why don't used a free DNS? You can setup a free DNS service for your host (www.dyndns.org). This DNS assign a name to your computer, and an utility (ddclient, wich is included in debian for example) will notify the IP change to the DNS.

So you can access to your machine always using the name of your computer...

I use it and there was no problem!!!
    When using Windows, have you ever told "Ehi... do your business?"
    Linux user #396597 (http://counter.li.org)

Just Joined!
    no-ip.com does this as well, and they have their own client thats easy to use. I use no-ip.com for a ton of domain names. They are good. Also if you use IPCop as a firewall gateway solution, it has built in support for dyndns and no-ip. really nice.