Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all! I am new to Linux and don't know how rsync works. First off, here is what I am supposed to do. I save the jpeg file(from email attachment) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

how to rsync web folders on different servers

Hi all!
    I am new to Linux and don't know how rsync works.
    First off, here is what I am supposed to do. I save the jpeg file(from email attachment) in Server A:/htdocs/test/img.. Whenever there is new file saved in Server A, it will also have to be in Server B:/webapps/testb/img.

How do I do this using rsync? Please give me sample scripts. Also, should I install rsync or it is also installed during Linux installation?

Thanks.

Well, this can be simple or get complicated. To approach it methodically:

You can ascertain whether rsync is installed simply by entering "rsync" on a shell command line. If it's there, you'll get a nice verbose help, if not, you'll get a terse "command not found". If it's not installed, you'll need to use whatever software management tool that comes with your Linux distro to install it. It's almost without a doubt either installed or somewhere on the Linux install disks.

To sync up those locations, you would typically enter:

rsync -av servera:/htdocs/test/img serverb:/htdocs/test/img

(note: - don't use spaces in paths on Linux. You can get around it in some cases, but it will cause you grief. Use an underscore instead if you must).

"img" can be either a file or a directory - typically you'll want to sync up directories containing files since you may or may not know the name of any given file, and that avoids having to type it out.

Now, if you want that command run every time you save a file, you can make a simple bash script and run it manually. Alternatively, you can use cron to run it. It allows you to run commands and scripts automatically at defined intervals.

DT

Just Joined!

Talking