Find the answer to your Linux question:
The read command in bash allows one line worth of input from a user and allows me to set that input as a variable as soon as they hit enter. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Bash - Multi-line read

The read command in bash allows one line worth of input from a user and allows me to set that input as a variable as soon as they hit enter.
    What I want to do is allow read input until an escape charachter (that I define) is typed (preferably on a line by itself).
    The point of this is to accept a whole essay worth of input strore it as a variable and use it in other functions.

I am really new to bash scripting and could really use some help.
    Thanks ahead of time.

You could always run something like this from a script:
    Code:
    cat > /tmp/foo.txt
    input=`cat /tmp/foo.txt`
    And just have the user input ^D when they're done typing.

I think you can use read for this too, deep down (almost hidden) in the manual there's this documentation:
    Code:
           read  [-ers]  [-u  fd]  [-t  timeout] [-a aname] [-p prompt] [-n nchars] [-d
           delim] [name ...]
                  One line is read from the standard input, or from the file descriptor
                  fd supplied as an argument to the -u option, and the  first  word  is
                  assigned  to  the first name, the second word to the second name, and
                  so on, with leftover words and their intervening separators  assigned
                  to  the  last  name.   If  there  are fewer words read from the input
                  stream than names, the remaining names  are  assigned  empty  values.
                  The  characters  in  IFS  are used to split the line into words.  The
                  backslash character (\) may be used to remove any special meaning for
                  the  next character read and for line continuation.  Options, if sup-