Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, Will be developing a daemon for Linux systems which will unfortunatley be proprietary. I would love to make it open source, but alas my company and I do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Portability of binaries between various linux distro's

Hi all,

Will be developing a daemon for Linux systems which will unfortunatley be proprietary. I would love to make it open source, but alas my company and I do not agree on this matter. This brings me to my question. How portable will a binary version of the application be between various linux distro's and installations? Also, what could I do to improve/ensure this portability. As I am rather new to Linux development I have no idea as to what hurdles lay ahead in such an endevour.

Thanks for any assistance.

Portability depends on the language you use, the libraries you link to, the packaging system you use, and any number of other things. The only way I can think of to make something truly portable (meaning no recompilation at all) is to do it in Java.

Barring that, make sure your code is ANSI standard, that you link only to libraries that are very common and therefore likely to already be installed on your target machines, and insist on manual compilation (or a generic shell script) rather than any particular packaging scheme to install it.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the help, but unfortunately Java poses a bit of a problem. I will be needing access to the systems hardware for various tasks, such as obtaining the MAC address. This is, to the best of my understanding, not possible with Java.

Quote Originally Posted by Greebocat