Find the answer to your Linux question:
i wanna start with c++ and maybe move up to GUI design. any suggestions for reading material?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

noob to programming looking for a place to start

i wanna start with c++ and maybe move up to GUI design. any suggestions for reading material?

i can tell you to NOT read C++ Programming for the Absolute Beginner. it's a terrible book.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

Just Joined!
    I can tell you this for Linux GUI programming:
    Look into GTK+ and QT. GTK+ is a C library, QT is C++. GTK+ is what Gnome implements, KDE uses QT. Both can be used on either KDE or Gnome and both can be ported to other platforms. You can also program GTK+ in a multitued of other languages (C++, Python, Perl) using language bindings. I suggest you find do a little research on both and make a determination as to which you want to use. I prefer GTK+ myself.

As far as C++ programming for Linux, you may want to research which large projects are using C++ and download them so you have some "real world" examples of C++ applications. I can't be of more help on that as I prefer C.

Good luck

Just Joined!
    Oh yeah! PS. I liked "C++ How to Program" by Deitel and Deitel. But again, the only C++ programming I do in Linux is either school-related or hacking other projects written in C++ to suite my needs.