Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

g++ error incomprensible for me

Hi... I'm new to C++ programming, so Im't not friend of g++ error reporting...

This is what report g++:

/bin/sh ../libtool --mode=link g++ -g -O2 -o tween-test tween-test.o winsys/libwinsys.a -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lXext -lX11 -L/usr/lib -ldl -lartsc -lpthread -lgmodule-2.0 -ldl -lgthread-2.0 -lglib-2.0 -lmcheck -lGL
    g++ -g -O2 -o tween-test tween-test.o winsys/libwinsys.a -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lXext -lX11 -L/usr/lib /usr/lib/libartsc.so -lpthread /usr/lib/libgmodule-2.0.so -ldl /usr/lib/libgthread-2.0.so /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so -lmcheck -lGL
    winsys/libwinsys.a(winsys-x11.o).gnu.linkonce.r._ZTI9WinSysX11[typeinfo for WinSysX11]+0x: undefined reference to `typeinfo for TWinSys'
    -----------

I've organized my project using subdirectories (managed with autoconf). The winsys subdirectory will create a static library called libwinsys.a. Then this library is linked with the proper executable (and in the future a shared library).

winsys subdirectory has:
    - winsys.h winsys.c (abstract class wich should be referenced for managing window system)
    - winsys-x11.h winsys.cpp (class derived from winsys.h, wich has implementation of virtual function declared in winsys.h for XFree86)

Here is a part of the code of winsys.h:

Code:
    #ifndef WINSYS_H
    #define WINSYS_H

class TWinSys {
      public:
        virtual void GetDisplayGeometry();
    }

#endif
    Here is a part of the code in winsys-x11.cpp:
    Code:
    #ifndef WINSYS_X11_H
    #define WINSYS_X11_H

#include <winsys.h>

class WinSysX11 : public TWinSys {
      private:
      public:
        void GetDisplayGeometry();
    }

#endif
    Complete sources are available in the attachments...

I hope someone helps!!!