Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm interested in learning C, starting when school's out, and I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good book or other resource for me to start with. I've had ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Lightbulb C Books/Resources recommendations

I'm interested in learning C, starting when school's out, and I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good book or other resource for me to start with. I've had some experience with other languages (HTML, JavaScript, PHP and some others), but I don't know where to start with something like C. Eventually I think I'd be interested in doing GTK stuff for GNOME.

Thanks!

I don't myself know C (currently learning C++), but I hear this site mentioned a lot:

http://www.cprogramming.com/

You might also check out The C Programming Language, which is the original C book. I've heard it said that the book is good, but again, I've not myself used it.

The program Dev Cpp (linky) has a good gui for programming in c and has a very good tutorial teaching you most aspects of the c language. i haven't tried it on linux, but it should work

I'd say get the K&R book on C, contains everything you need to know about C (well the vast majority of it).. It can be a bit daunting to understand for a new programmer, so IMO it is best used in conjunction with another book e.g. Schaums "Programming in C" or one of the O'Reilly ones.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

i suppose i'd had a little head start in knowing about 2 lines of C++ and learning some pascal in college, but The C Programming Language by Kernighan and Ritchie isn't as hard as AlexK says. it's good because it's got a good in-depth explanation of stuff and gives you small programming tasks to do, without putting the answers in the back. i'm on chapter 2 right now
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows: