Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, i'm new in programming, but i want to give it a try and learn about programming. i'm planning to learn about C++ on linux. what kind of application ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Newbie Questions about programming

Hi guys, i'm new in programming, but i want to give it a try and learn about programming. i'm planning to learn about C++ on linux. what kind of application should i use? i'm using suse 10.1 and where can i find about C++ and all of the resource.

thanks

Hi !!!

just write C++ program in editor CLI... vi or emac.. GUI ...gedit or kate

compile and run

$ c++ <file.h>
    you will get a file a.out... run it
    $ ./a.out

for C++ tutorials check these links.......

http://www.zeuscmd.com/tutorials/cplusplus/index.php
    http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/
    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/C++
    http://cplus.about.com/od/beginnerct...blcplustut.htm
    http://www.bloodshed.net/dev/doc/index.html

... casper ...
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

As far as C++ IDEs go, I've always been most successful just using text editors: gedit (GNOME), kate (KDE), or Vi or Emacs (commandline). If you're looking for a full-fledged IDE, KDE has KDevelop, and there's also Anjuta. Eclipse (a Java IDE) also has a C++ plugin.

There are a ton of free online resources for learning C++: if you're like me and prefer a real book, I'd recommend "C++: How to Program" from Deitel and Deitel. I found great success with it. I also hear good things about "C++ in 21 Days" or whatever it's called.

Finally, regarding compilation of C++ files (if you use a regular text editor), if my code is in hello.cpp, and I want the program to be called "hello", I would run:
    Code:
    g++ -Wall -o hello hello.cpp
    What is this?
    g++ - GNU C++ Compiler
    -Wall - Enable all warnings