Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, im a newbie in RH9 and i have a few problems wif shell commands. can any1 pls help me wif that? i m trying to use grep to show ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Shell Commands

Hi,

im a newbie in RH9 and i have a few problems wif shell commands. can any1 pls help me wif that?

i m trying to use grep to show me words in my /usr/share/dict/words that contain the following conditions,

1) a single 'z' that is not adjacent to a vowel (this also includes words ending and starting wif 'z')

i tried

grep '[^aeiouzAEIOUZ]z\|z[^aeiouzAEIOUZ]' /usr/share/dict/words

but it show me words that is like

Alpheratz
    analyzable
    analyze
    analyzed
    analyzer
    analyzers
    analyzes
    analyzing
    Auschwitz
    Aztec
    Aztecan
    Balzac
    bedazzle
    bedazzled
    bedazzlement
    bedazzles
    bedazzling

y is this so when i have areadi included z/Z not to be in the search?
    i also tried

grep '^z\|^Z\|z$\|Z$' /usr/share/dict/words | grep '[^aeiouzAEIOUZ]z\|z[^aeiouzAEIOUZ]'

which shows

Alpheratz
    Auschwitz
    Benz
    Berkowitz
    Berlitz
    Blatz
    blitz
    chintz
    Dietz
    ersatz
    Franz
    Fritz
    gigahertz
    Gonzalez
    Heinz
    Helmholtz
    hertz
    Horowitz
    Hurwitz

I thought i had areadi included no vowels or z infront or behind z, but y is 'Gonzalez' appearing in my search??

Having headache now. Pls help. THanks.

Linux User

so close

you were so close.

grep '[^aeiouzAEIOUZ]z\|Z[^aeiouzAEIOUZ]' /usr/share/dict/words

this meams first part - [^aeiouzAEIOUZ]z
    OR
    second part - Z[^aeiouzAEIOUZ]'

so you need
    grep '[^aeiouzAEIOUZ][z\|Z][^aeiouzAEIOUZ]' ./words

have fun.
    No trees were harmed during the creation of this message. Its made from a blend of elephant tusk and dolphin meat.

Linux User

missed one