Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, I am completely new to C++, but not linux Im using Red Hat 7.3, and have been for a little while now I also studies Pascal, and Visual Basic ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

C++ Newbie

Ok, I am completely new to C++, but not linux
    Im using Red Hat 7.3, and have been for a little while now
    I also studies Pascal, and Visual Basic in college, so have the jist of programming, loops, etc..

Im wanting to learn C++
    Heres my questions....

Where can I get beginner info/tutorials to start teaching me basics?
    What tools do i need to be able to write and compile a program?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks

Linux User

C++

Paul,

Glad to here you a learning C++. I think that every programmer should learn it. I can't help you with beginner info/tutorials, I would rather advise you to purchase some good books. Also, if you are not familiar with C, I would advise you to become familiar with C first.

I recommend reading: The C Programming Language by Brian Kernighan and Dennis Ritchie. This is the definitive reference for the C language. These guys invented it so they know what they are talking about. Depending on your level of computer knowledge you may have a difficult time reading it, but if you expect to master the language you better have a copy of this book.

Also, The C++ Programming Language by Bjarne Stroustrup is a must. Stroustrup is the creator of C++ and he knows what he is talking about. Again, it is a difficult read depending on your level of knowledge but a must have.

If you need any other book suggestions, I would say, pay a visit to amazon.com and read the book reviews. And maybe some other sites as well that list book reviews.

Tools:

Make sure that you have all or most of the development packages installed for RedHat. This will make it easier in the long run.

You will need a compiler like gcc or something else.