Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Hello, Iam kinda new on this forum although ive been registered for quite some time. I reasently installed Fedora core 7 from an dvd iso, i checked the dvd before ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    10

    Fedora core 7 boot problems


    Hello,

    Iam kinda new on this forum although ive been registered for quite some time.

    I reasently installed Fedora core 7 from an dvd iso, i checked the dvd before installing linux using the cd/dvd check "program" just before the installation and it passed flawless.

    I installed fedora core 7 as basic as possible (i think!!) on a removable 10 gig harddisk because the dual boot didn't work out for me.

    After the installation it discard the dvd and there is one option: reboot, so i press reboot and take te dvd out of the player. So far so good, then the pc reboots and boots from ? linux i think. This is where i get stuck, i get an announcemend:

    [ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB
    lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
    completions of a device/filename. ]

    grub>

    I searched a bit on this and came to the conclusion linux isn't booting at all. So i found a howto for newbies (iam a big one so i click on it ) this is the link:
    HTML Code:
    http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Fix_Grub_it_can't_find_a_kernel
    I tried the 2 possible things that are discribed there but no luck.

    I really want to learn working with linux because windows is so crappy and cpu stressed that the only thing that is working fine are games, and internet. One of my hobbies is 3d drawing...no not possible windows just isn't capable of letting other programs get any cpu to play with (in a matter of speach ofcourse windows isn't all that crappy but i hear allot that linux is more...well better)

    My question is: how do i get rid of that announcemend and let my pc boot linux Fedora core 7??

    Kind regards,

    Dawn

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Try to reinstall GRUB. Boot up from Fedora Installation CD/DVD and select rescue mode.
    It will drop you at shell prompt after asking a few questions. Execute this
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/sda --recheck
    exit 
    exit
    In case it doesn't work, boot up in rescue mode again and execute this
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    10
    Thanks for the reaction.

    I tried it but it still doesn't work.
    This was the comment:

    Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
    /dev/sda does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.

    fdisk -1 was an unreconised command.

    What did i do wrong?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Its small L.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    10
    Tried it again and now i got result!

    After the first command line: grub grub grub grub on and on after reboot.

    Then i typed fdisk -l and got:

    disk /dev/sde 10,0 gb blabla bites

    device boot start end Id system
    /dev/sde1 * 1 13 83 Linux
    /dev/sde2 14 1216 8e Linux LVM

    So i hope you guys can help me with this information

    DaWn

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    GRUB has assigned /dev/sde device name to your HD. Boot up in rescue mode again and execute this
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/sde  --recheck
    exit
    exit
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    10
    Doesn't work, then i get :

    Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub Grub

    and so on, it never stops then...

    I think the cod isn't good:

    grub-install /dev/sda --recheck only it is :

    grub-install /dev/sde --recheck ??

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Aren't you booting up in Rescue Mode? Does grub-install command throw any error?
    In case nothing works, download SuperGRUB CD, boot from it. Select 'Fix Linux Boot Loader ( GRUB )' from the list.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    10
    I used SuperGRUB cd and i finnaly got something usefull: booting up after reinstalling grub stuff (i don't understand much of it but i tried hard to reinstall )

    booting up :

    grub loading stage1.5

    grub loading, please wait
    ERROR 2

    Sorry iam such an burden

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    GRUB Error 2 : "Selected disk doesn't exist" This error is returned if the device part of a device- or full filename refers to a disk or BIOS device that is not present or not recognized by the BIOS in the system.
    Something is wrong with device naming only. Check the output of fdisk -l command. Is it still using /dev/sde name?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •