Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have installed CentOS 5.0 on my laptop on a virtual machince using VM Ware. I gave it 20 GB hard disk space and used the dvd image they have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I can not see the GUI in CentOS 5.0

I have installed CentOS 5.0 on my laptop on a virtual machince using VM

Ware. I gave it 20 GB hard disk space and used the dvd image they have on

their web site.

Although I am still new to linux, I chose to install KDE and Gnome GUIs since I

do not have any experience with the commands or the shell.

When I start the VM Ware and choose the CentOS 5.0 to start, it degins

loading the drivers while checking if it loads or fails by typing the word ok or

fail in front of each one. Then, A GUI starts loading the programs, and out of

the sudden, a black screen comes asking localhost name and password. I

enter that and I login. Though I can not load the GUI to start working on the

system. Any suggestions?

log in at the black screen and type 'startx' at the command prompt. If the graphic desktop session starts, then you're halfway there, edit /etc/inittab, near the top will be a line that says 'id:3:initdefault'. Change the 3 to a 5 and reboot the virtual machine.

If startx doesn't start the graphic interface, then post up here what the error messages say.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Just Joined!
    I wrote startx, the response:

xauth: creating new authority file /home/username/.serverauth.3404

Fatal error:
    Server is already active for display 0
    if this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock and start again

that was the message I got. two more things, first, I noticed that the microcode failed to load. second, I used a capital letter for the first letter of my user name. Is this a problem?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close