Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
Greetings to this forum I had vista and fedora 8 running on a Dell Inspiron 1721 laptop and decided to add opensuse 10.3. However, opensuse took over grub (as expected), ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19

    triple booting vista, fedora 8 and opensuse


    Greetings to this forum
    I had vista and fedora 8 running on a Dell Inspiron 1721 laptop and decided to add opensuse 10.3. However, opensuse took over grub (as expected), but, though it recognizes vista does not recognize fedora 8 (unexpected). So now I can't boot fedora 8. I notice the two distros write grub files a little different, and wonder how I can get into fedora 8 now.
    But more generally, instead of having whatever distro is the newest installed taking over control of grub, is there someway else to take care of all this? I am thinking here of refit for intel mac, which once installed from mac os gives you a cute graphical interface for booting whatever other OSes are available.
    But short of that, would appreciate any help in getting back into Fedora.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    464
    Boot open suse and mount the Fedora partition. An example of how to do that would be to make a folder, mkdir /media/fedora. Then mount the partition. Before you mount it though you need to know what partition Fedora is on. If it's /dev/sda5 for example you would type mount -t ext3 /dev/sda5 /media/fedora. Open Suse's grub.conf and Fedora's grub.conf in an editor. Copy the top stanza from Fedora's grub.conf to Suse's grub.conf. The text you want from Fedora will look similar to this:
    Code:
    title Fedora (2.6.23.8-63.fc8)
            root (hd0,5)
            kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.23.8-63.fc8 ro root=LABEL=/1 rhgb quiet
            initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.23.8-63.fc8.img
    Save and type umount /media/fedora then reboot. Fedora will now be shown in the menu and should boot perfectly.
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by glennzo
    Copy the top stanza from Fedora's grub.conf to Suse's grub.conf. The text you want from Fedora will look similar to this:
    Its /boot/grub/menu.lst file in SuSe instead of grub.conf.
    Quote Originally Posted by kendew
    But more generally, instead of having whatever distro is the newest installed taking over control of grub, is there someway else to take care of all this? I am thinking here of refit for intel mac, which once installed from mac os gives you a cute graphical interface for booting whatever other OSes are available.
    Hi and Welcome !

    You can install GRUB in boot sector of root partition of new distro. In that way, new distro's GRUB will not overwrite existing GRUB. You have to add this code in existing grub.conf or menu.lst file.
    Code:
    title <new distro name>
    rootnoverify (hdx,y)
    chainloader +1
    Replace x and y with new distro's root partition number.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    464
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Its /boot/grub/menu.lst file in SuSe instead of grub.conf.
    I don't believe it really makes a difference. menu.lst is just a link to grub.conf, so you can edit either, or is there no grub.conf in Suse?
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    There isn't any /boot/grub/grub.conf file in SuSe. AFAIK, its /etc/grub.conf. ( I dont have access to SuSe box right now. )
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Do appreciate the suggestions. However, I get:
    Code:
    # mount -t ext3 /dev/sda6 /media/fedora
    mount: /dev/sda6 already mounted or /media/fedora busy
    Then if try umount:
    Code:
    # umount /dev/sda6
    umount: /dev/sda6: not mounted
    Try it simple:
    Code:
     # mount /dev/sda6
    mount: can't find /dev/sda6 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
    Just seem to be going in circles! Any way out??

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    I have OpenSUSE and added the following ...

    title Bring up other Linux Grub menu - Linux other Ubuntu (/dev/sda10)
    root (hd0,9)
    configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst

    This bring up the Ubuntu grub menu on partition sda10.

    When I install a new linux system I get it to install grub to its partition and then just add a corresponding entry to the grub menu.lst files

    This approach works with OpenSUSE, Ubuntu, and Gentoo at least.

  8. #8
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    464
    I think at this point you ought to post the contents of the commands, from a terminal in Suse, /sbin/fdisk -l and cat /boot/grub/menu.lst.

    Hey there Devils Casper, when can I not be a Linux Newbie anymore?
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Here goes:
    Code:
    # /sbin/fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xc8000000
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1            5561       14625    72814612+  8e  Linux LVM
    /dev/sda2               1        1315    10562706    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3   *        1316        5560    34097962+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda4           14626       19457    38813040    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5           14626       14651      208813+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda6           14652       19457    38604163+  8e  Linux LVM
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    
    Disk /dev/dm-0: 26.8 GB, 26843545600 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3263 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    
    Disk /dev/dm-1: 21.4 GB, 21474836480 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2610 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    
    Disk /dev/dm-2: 1837 MB, 1837105152 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 223 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/dm-2 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    
    Disk /dev/dm-3: 37.6 GB, 37648072704 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4577 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/dm-3 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    
    Disk /dev/dm-4: 1845 MB, 1845493760 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 224 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x30307800
    
    Disk /dev/dm-4 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    Code:
    # cat /boot/grub/menu.lst
    # Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Sun Dec 16 17:22:23 HST 2007
    default 0
    timeout 8
    gfxmenu (hd0,4)/message
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title openSUSE 10.3 - 2.6.22.13-0.3
        root (hd0,4)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.22.13-0.3-default root=/dev/system/root vga=0x355 resume=/dev/system/swap splash=silent showopts
        initrd /initrd-2.6.22.13-0.3-default
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- openSUSE 10.3 - 2.6.22.13-0.3
        root (hd0,4)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.22.13-0.3-default root=/dev/system/root vga=normal showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off noresume edd=off 3
        initrd /initrd-2.6.22.13-0.3-default
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows 1###
    title windows 1
        rootnoverify (hd0,4)
        chainloader (hd0,1)+1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows 2###
    title windows 2
        rootnoverify (hd0,4)
        chainloader (hd0,2)+1
    
    title Fedora (2.6.23.8-63.fc8)
            root (hd0,5)
            kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.23.8-63.fc8 ro root=LABEL=/1 rhgb quiet
            initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.23.8-63.fc8.img
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
    title Floppy
        rootnoverify (hd0,4)
        chainloader (fd0)+1

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Sorry, I should add that I just tried editing the Fedora part. It wasn't originally in menu.lst. I am not sure what it's hd0 identity is. I went with 6, to correspond with sda6, but on trying to boot got grub error no such disc. So I thought to countdown. I haven't tried 5 yet. Basically, I don't understand the hd0 relationship to sda.
    Also, openSUSE is at sda1, Fedora at sda4. I used gparted on the pmagic 1.9 CD to set these partitions. I also tried once to install Ubuntu, but it wouldn't work with this new Dell inspiron 1721 laptop's hardware very well, whereas Fedora and openSUSE both do. The LVM setup was created by the installers.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •