Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
root$ mount -t iso9660 -o loop0 ppc-2007-01-19.iso /mnt/iso mount: ppc-2007-01-19.iso is not a block device (maybe try `-o loop'?) root$ mount -t iso9660 -o loop ppc-2007-01-19.iso /mnt/iso mount: wrong fs ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    19

    Question errors in mounting an iso file


    root$ mount -t iso9660 -o loop0 ppc-2007-01-19.iso /mnt/iso

    mount: ppc-2007-01-19.iso is not a block device (maybe try `-o loop'?)

    root$ mount -t iso9660 -o loop ppc-2007-01-19.iso /mnt/iso
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0,
    missing codepage or other error
    In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
    dmesg | tail or so

    using fedora 7 on arch=i686
    need help prethanks to helper
    Last edited by rohit83.ken; 12-21-2007 at 05:29 AM. Reason: correction

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lakshmipathi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    3rd rock from sun - Often seen near moon
    Posts
    1,769
    Quote Originally Posted by rohit83.ken View Post
    root$ mount -t iso9660 -o loop0 ppc-2007-01-19.iso /mnt/iso

    mount: ppc-2007-01-19.iso is not a block device (maybe try `-o loop'?)

    root$ mount -t iso9660 -o loop ppc-2007-01-19.iso /mnt/iso
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0,
    missing codepage or other error
    In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
    dmesg | tail or so

    using fedora 7 on arch=i686
    need help prethanks to helper
    What are u trying to do?
    Are you trying mount CD which contains ppc-2007-01-19.iso file?
    If so,
    Try without options like this :
    Code:
    mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/iso
    make sure : /mnt/iso directory exists
    HTH
    First they ignore you,Then they laugh at you,Then they fight with you,Then you win. - M.K.Gandhi
    -----
    FOSS India Award winning ext3fs Undelete tool www.giis.co.in. Online Linux Terminal http://www.webminal.org

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    38
    Try "-t iso9660,udf" that occasionally helps for me.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Arrrgh!...

    Just install:
    > yum -y install acetoneiso2
    And you will have a much easier life.
    Otherwise:
    > mount -o loop file.iso /folder

    Ps: I'm drunk maybe i did'nt get the question lol

    DENMARK ROX!!!...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •