Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
Have you created SWAP Partition? Post the output of fdisk -l command here. Post the contents of /etc/fstab file again. Code: su - cat /etc/fstab fdisk -l...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    Have you created SWAP Partition?
    Post the output of fdisk -l command here. Post the contents of /etc/fstab file again.
    Code:
    su -
    cat /etc/fstab
    fdisk -l
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12
    This is the output of fdisk -l :

    Disk /dev/hda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 2550 20482843+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2 2551 2563 104422+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda3 2564 8323 46267200 83 Linux
    /dev/hda4 8324 9729 11293695 5 Extended
    /dev/hda5 8324 8454 1052226 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda6 8455 9729 10241406 83 Linux

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12
    This is the output for /etc/fstab

    cat /etc/fstab
    # This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    /dev/devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    /dev/shm /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults 1 2
    /dev/proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/sys /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=
    PrOscar|Pr_5e swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
    /dev/hdc /media/cdrom auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12
    I remember well that i had created swap during installation. Now it takes me by surprise as to why i donot see it. I am quiet confused.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12
    I am sorry that i had used the parted command as a user. so it was not in path. i can see some swap now:

    /sbin/parted
    GNU Parted 1.6.22
    Copyright (C) 1998 - 2005 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    This program is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License.

    This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty
    of MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the GNU General Public License for more details.

    Using /dev/hda
    (parted) p
    Disk geometry for /dev/hda: 0.000-76319.085 megabytes
    Disk label type: msdos
    Minor Start End Type Filesystem Flags
    1 0.031 20002.807 primary ntfs boot
    2 20002.808 20104.782 primary ext3
    3 20104.783 65287.595 primary ext3
    4 65287.595 76316.594 extended
    5 65287.626 66315.190 logical linux-swap
    6 66315.221 76316.594 logical ext3
    (parted) q
    Information: Don't forget to update /etc/fstab, if necessary.

    My /etc/fstab output is as follows:

    cat /etc/fstab
    # This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    /dev/devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    /dev/shm /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults 1 2
    /dev/proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/sys /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=
    PrOscar|Pr_5e swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
    /dev/hdc /media/cdrom auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0

    why is that i see zero swap with free command??

    free
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 515328 506564 8764 0 113400 100868
    -/+ buffers/cache: 292296 223032
    Swap: 0 0 0

  6. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Log in as root and open /etc/fstab file.
    Replace this line
    Code:
    LABEL=PrOscar|Pr_5e    swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    With this

    Code:
    /dev/hda5   swap   swap    defaults        0 0
    Save file and reboot machine. Execute free command.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23

    partition magic

    partition magic has a free download that might help

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12
    Thanks a lot.....my swap problem is solved now.
    (/dev/hda5 swap swap defaults 0 0)

  9. #19
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you.
    Do start a new thread if you have any other question.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12

    CD drive problem

    hi,

    i have a new thread on CD drive. please check

    uma

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •