Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hi i have 80 gb hdd , i have installed redhat linux on a partition of 16 gb and windows on other partition , i installed windows first and linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2

    windows not booting after redhat 5 installation


    hi

    i have 80 gb hdd , i have installed redhat linux on a partition of 16 gb and windows on other partition , i installed windows first and linux later.. here is the grub.conf , i am not able to boot to windows , i get an error
    rootnoverify (hd0,4)
    chainloader +1
    i also added makeactive ...no go ....
    please help...Urgent

    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    # root (hd0,0)
    # kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda3
    # initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=1
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server (2.6.18-8.el5)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-8.el5 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.6.18-8.el5.img
    title windows xp
    rootnoverify (hd0,4)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by s.bal View Post
    hi

    i have 80 gb hdd , i have installed redhat linux on a partition of 16 gb and windows on other partition , i installed windows first and linux later.. here is the grub.conf , i am not able to boot to windows , i get an error
    rootnoverify (hd0,4)
    chainloader +1
    i also added makeactive ...no go ....
    please help...Urgent

    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    # root (hd0,0)
    # kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda3
    # initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=1
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server (2.6.18-8.el5)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-8.el5 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.6.18-8.el5.img
    title windows xp
    rootnoverify (hd0,4)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    You look to have the grub menu hidden - do you get a menu as part of the normal boot process?
    Can you post the output of fdisk -l

  3. #3
    Linux User infoshirish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    397
    Hello,

    You can try this:-

    Load the Windows install CD and boot from it.
    After it initializes use the Recovery Console.
    You should get a C:\Windows prompt.

    Now type

    FIXMBR
    This may boot your windows directly. In that case you need to install grub.
    Regards,

    who |grep -i blonde |
    date; cd~; unzip; touch;
    strip; finger; mount; gasp;
    yes; uptime; umount;
    sleep

    Newbie clicks
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...ead-first.html

  4. #4
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    You said you are getting an error when you try to boot Windows. What is the exact error message as well as the output of running "fdisk -l" as root.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by s.bal
    I am not able to boot to windows , i get an error
    rootnoverify (hd0,4)
    chainloader +1
    i also added makeactive ...no go ....
    Hi and Welcome !

    Above error means Windows OS has not been installed in third partition. Log in as root and execute this in Terminal/Konsole.
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Post output here.
    Do not execute fixmbr or any other command.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Buddies for help...i started my pc from scratch...installed windows in 1st partition and Linux in other ...got it working....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •