Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hi , I m using a Presario C700 series Laptop with te WideScreen, I have problems in loading the X server. It could not start the Installation in Graphical Mode, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15

    No Screens Found RHEL 5


    Hi ,

    I m using a Presario C700 series Laptop with te WideScreen,
    I have problems in loading the X server.
    It could not start the Installation in Graphical Mode, but successfully done in text mode.

    Most of the experts have said that system-config-display would resolve, but its actually not.

    i tried system-config-display --reconfig, but still it says that it could not start.

    Error: No Valid Modes
    Screens found, but none have a usable configuration.

    fatal server error:
    No Screens found

    Here is my /var/log/Xorg.0.log

    LinRedMaskSize: 5

    LinRedFieldPosition: 11
    LinGreenMaskSize: 6
    LinGreenFieldPosition: 5
    LinBlueMaskSize: 5
    LinBlueFieldPosition: 0
    LinRsvdMaskSize: 0

    LinRsvdFieldPosition: 0
    MaxPixelClock: 230000000

    (II) VESA(0): Total Memory: 119 64KB banks (7616kB)
    (II) VESA(0): <default monitor>: Using hsync value of 48.94 kHz
    (II) VESA(0): <default monitor>: Using vrefresh value of 59.98 Hz
    (II) VESA(0): Not using mode "1280x1024" (no mode of this name)
    (II) VESA(0): Not using mode "1024x800" (no mode of this name)
    (II) VESA(0): Not using built-in mode "800x600" (hsync out of range)
    (II) VESA(0): Not using built-in mode "640x480" (hsync out of range)
    (II) VESA(0): Not using built-in mode "1024x768" (hsync out of range)
    (EE) VESA(0): No valid modes
    (II) UnloadModule: "vesa"
    (II) UnloadModule: "ddc"
    (II) Unloading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libddc.so
    (II) UnloadModule: "int10"
    (II) Unloading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libint10.so
    (II) UnloadModule: "vbe"
    (II) Unloading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/libvbe.so
    (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

    Fatal server error:
    no screens found

    Smiles
    Kasi

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    lspci | grep VGA
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Output Posted..

    lspci | grep VGA

    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel corporation Mobile Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)

    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver

    Driver "kbd"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Driver "vesa"

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Replace Driver "vesa" with "i810".
    Save file and execute startx command again. Post error message here, if any.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Hi ,

    Here is the output...

    (WW) I810: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0:2:1) found
    (EE) No devices detected.

    Fatal server error:
    no screens found
    XIO: fatal IO error 104 (connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
    after 0 requests(0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.


    Smiles
    Kasi VPS

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the contents of /etc/X11/xorg.conf file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Hi ,

    Here is the config file - /etc/X11/Xorg.conf

    # Xorg configuration created by pyxf86config

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier "Synaptics"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    Option "LeftEdge" "120"
    Option "RightEdge" "830"
    Option "TopEdge" "120"
    Option "BottomEdge" "650"
    Option "FingerLow" "14"
    Option "FingerHigh" "15"
    Option "MaxTapMove" "110"
    Option "VertScrollDelta" "20"
    Option "HorizScrollDelta" "20"
    Option "MinSpeed" "0.3"
    Option "MaxSpeed" " 0.75"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"

    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "i810"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"

    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 8
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x800" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x800" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x800" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Smiles
    Kasi VPS

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    Have you added 0 0 in Screen line?
    Execute this
    Code:
    system-config-display
    Select "vesa" driver from list.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Hi ,

    The specified line "Screen0" 0 0 is already added.

    I tried several times system-config-display
    Error :
    Couldnt start X server on card 0
    Couldnt Start X server on card 1
    trying with a fresh configuration ...
    Again the same error.

    I also tried system-config-display --reconfig

    Still no progress...

    Regards
    Kasi VPS

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    How many Graphics Cards do you have? Disable onboard Graphics card in BIOS and try again.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •