Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all As you can see from my subject i wanna start learning linux - i'm a system admin in MS. Where is a good point to start. Should i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wanna learn linux

Hi all

As you can see from my subject i wanna start learning linux - i'm a system admin in MS. Where is a good point to start. Should i start with Suse or Redhat or what is the difference between the 2(can i download them from this page). I have NEVER touched Linux before.

Thanks for the help
    Craig

IMO I would recommend a few things.

If you want to learn how to manage servers using the command line get CentOS as it is geared more towards enterprise and a nice free solution to the RHEL level OS.

If you want to use linux as a desktop:

SuSe is good as it has a nice tool called YaST (Yet Another Setup Tool) that makes life easy.
    Fedora Flavor as it is geared more towards Desktop users and also has easy to use GUI's to help manage the machine
    Ubuntu which is also another easy to manage desktop type of OS which has GUI to help manage.

Again, this is my opinion and I hope this helps.
    LINUX - "The other white meat.."
    Registered Linux User #439112

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Take a look at the link in my signature for lots of good information on getting started with Linux.

You can get Red Hat Enterprise Linux here, or you can get Suse Linux Enterprise here.

There are also lots of distributions available for free if you should wish to go that route. Check them out at DistroWatch.

Have fun with Linux.
    oz