Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hey guys having a little problem with FC4 and Win XP SP2. I just recently bought this HP Comp from a Friend with Win XP. I have been using a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Fedora Core 4 and Windows XP SP2 Boot Problems


    Hey guys having a little problem with FC4 and Win XP SP2.

    I just recently bought this HP Comp from a Friend with Win XP.

    I have been using a homemade Comp with FC4.

    I need help with Booting FC4 on new Windows Comp.

    I have FC4 HD in Windows comp but I can not find a way to get it to even read that FC4 Is installed on the 2nd HD. How do I fix this problem. Any Help would be greatly appreciated.

    I have alot of good files on my FC4 HD and would like to keep that OS working.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Hiya and Welcome,
    You probably just need to make sure the FC disk is the master disk and not the Secondary.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    460
    Hey Mike, do you think that if he sets up the FC4 drive as master that it will offer to boot Fedora?. I'm thinking that he needs to re-install GRUB no matter if the Fedora drive is master or slave plus add Windows to the GRUB menu. Other option is to learn how to use Windows' boot loader to boot Linux.
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,040
    This sounds quite similar to http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/red...tml#post544106 which may not involve reinstall of grub.

  5. #5
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
    Hey Mike, do you think that if he sets up the FC4 drive as master that it will offer to boot Fedora?. I'm thinking that he needs to re-install GRUB no matter if the Fedora drive is master or slave plus add Windows to the GRUB menu. Other option is to learn how to use Windows' boot loader to boot Linux.
    That's what I used to think also, apparently it works though, because I have seen several people report it to work. You are correct about having to add Windows to the boot loader.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #6
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    460
    If that's the case it certainly makes things a lot easier.
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •