Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1

    How to install KDE?


    hi all i have fedora7 (moonshine) in my computer ,no windows. i read some forums and find out that fedora 9 is going to release in april with kde i.e no Gnome thats good because gnome is not so good looking

    i want to install KDE in my f7 but from their website i cant figure it out how to install kde plz tell me how to do that!!.. step by step

    ASUS M2NPV-VM AMD64
    2 GB RAM WITH 160 GB HDD (ONLY FEDORA)

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,874
    Hiya deepak.jindal07,
    Try this.
    yum groupinstall "KDE (K Desktop Environment)"
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,732
    Be sure to check the KDE section of the Fedora wiki for additional info.

    Let us know how it works out for you.
    oz

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4

    Thanks Mike

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Hiya deepak.jindal07,
    Try this.
    yum groupinstall "KDE (K Desktop Environment)"
    the command is really usefull as it donwload all the files instead of downloading files manually .

    and yes after running the command and download 177Mb files ,to switch from gnome to KDE manulay have ,without removing gnome , change the default screen from the login manager

  6. #5
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,874
    Glad you got it working, don't hesitate to create new threads if you need more help.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  7. #6
    SuperMod (Back again) devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,777
    Gnome, KDE and Xfce are available in Fedora DVD only but there are separate Fedora LiveCDs of Gnome and KDE+Xfce.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Answer was allready given... :P
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  9. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Hiya deepak.jindal07,
    Try this.
    yum groupinstall "KDE (K Desktop Environment)"

    which all repositories should i enable for this ?
    any specific ....im using livna and fedora

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamerchawla View Post
    which all repositories should i enable for this ?
    any specific ....im using livna and fedora
    KDE is available in de standard Fedora Repository.

    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •