Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
hi eveyone!!! i m using fedora 7. i want to access my windows partitions in linux what should i do to mount them? [root@localhost media]# fdisk -l Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    ved
    ved is offline
    Linux User ved's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    309

    Smile mounting windows partitions


    hi eveyone!!!
    i m using fedora 7. i want to access my windows partitions in linux
    what should i do to mount them?

    [root@localhost media]# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 1785 14337981 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 1786 8046 50291482+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda3 8047 9729 13518697+ 8e Linux LVM
    /dev/sda5 1786 5355 28675993+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda6 5356 7966 20972826 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda7 7967 7979 104391 83 Linux

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Log in as root and execute this
    Code:
    cd /media
    mkdir sda1 sda5 sda6
    Open /etc/fstab file and add these lines at the end of file
    Code:
    /dev/sda1  /media/sda1  ntfs-3g  defaults,umask=0 0 0
    /dev/sda5  /media/sda5  vfat  defaults,umask=0 0 0
    /dev/sda6  /media/sda6  vfat  defaults,umask=0 0 0
    Save file and execute mount -a command or Reboot machine. Check /media/sda1, 5 and 6 folders.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    ved
    ved is offline
    Linux User ved's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    309
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Log in as root and execute this
    Code:
    cd /media
    mkdir sda1 sda5 sda6
    Open /etc/fstab file and add these lines at the end of file
    Code:
    /dev/sda1  /media/sda1  ntfs-3g  defaults,umask=0 0 0
    /dev/sda5  /media/sda5  vfat  defaults,umask=0 0 0
    /dev/sda6  /media/sda6  vfat  defaults,umask=0 0 0
    Save file and execute mount -a command or Reboot machine. Check /media/sda1, 5 and 6 folders.
    even when i m working as root
    then
    [root@localhost media]# /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 ntfs-3g defaults,umask=0 0 0
    bash: /dev/sda1: Permission denied



    what to do next

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Dont execute it at terminal. Add those lines in /etc/fstab file.
    Either log in as root in GUI or execute su - instead of su to gain root privileges in Terminal/Konsole.

    Code:
    su -
    nano /etc/fstab
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    ved
    ved is offline
    Linux User ved's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    309

    Smile

    yes i will mounted my windows partitions
    Take risks: if you win, you will be happy; if you lose, you will be wise.
    New Users : Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •